Christian Schmelter
Lawyer
Solicitor with Official Specialisation in Employment Law

Many years of professional experience, a broad perspective and a knack for analysing labour law characterise the working methods of Mr Schmelter. Even in times of crisis, he remains calm and in control. His experience not only helps him to work out what is legally possible, but also what makes sense economically.  

Beginning in his studies and continuing through his legal clerkship, Mr Schmelter specialised in labour law as his optional subject, thus setting the course for his professional career early on.  

Through his previous professional experience, he learned to assess different legal problems from different perspectives. During his work for an insolvent company administrator, he was involved, among other things, in the restructuring of companies, particularly with regard to staffing. His duties included negotiations with works councils, creditors and acquirers.

After moving to a firm specialising in commercial law, he was responsible for labour law and advised employers as well as employees and works councils. Here he gained additional, extensive case experience.  

A further move to a large German corporate group sharpened his business acumen. One of his strengths in this regard was assessing individual cases as part of a larger context.  

Mr Schmelter has completed the programme for specialising in tax law. He has held the title of labour law specialist since 2009. He advises and represents companies nationwide on all questions of labour law, particularly in the planning and implementation of personnel changes, lay-offs, restructuring and transfers of businesses. Mr Schmelter also advises executives, directors and board members out of court and in court on all legal issues.

Christian Schmelter
Rechtsanwalt
Fachanwalt für Arbeitsrecht

Langjährige Berufserfahrung, der Blick über den Tellerrand sowie die korrekte arbeitsrechtliche Analyse zeichnen die Arbeitsweise des Herrn Rechtsanwalt Schmelter aus. Auch in Krisenzeiten bewahrt er die Ruhe und den Überblick. Seine Erfahrungen helfen ihm nicht nur hinsichtlich des rechtlich Möglichen, sondern auch auf das wirtschaftlich Sinnvolle hinzuarbeiten.

Bereits während des Studiums und des Referendariats wählte Herr Rechtsanwalt Schmelter Arbeitsrecht als Wahlfach und stellte damit früh die Weichen seiner beruflichen Laufbahn.

Durch seine bisherigen beruflichen Stationen lernte er die verschiedenen rechtlichen Probleme aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven zu beurteilen. So war er während seiner Tätigkeiten in einer Insolvenzverwaltung unter anderem mit der Umstrukturierung von Unternehmen gerade im Hinblick auf die Beschäftigtenverhältnisse befasst. Verhandlungen mit Betriebsräten, Gläubigern und Betriebsübernehmer gehörten zu seinen Aufgaben.

Nach einem Wechsel in eine wirtschaftsrechtlich ausgerichtete Kanzlei war er dort unter anderem für das Arbeitsrecht zuständig und beriet sowohl Arbeitgeber als auch Arbeitnehmer und Betriebsräte. Hier sammelte er weitere umfassende Prozesserfahrungen.

Ein erneuter Wechsel in einen großen deutschen Konzern schärfte den Blick für das Unternehmerische. Den einzelnen Fall als Teil des Ganzen zu bewerten, gehörte hier zu seinen Stärken.

Herr Rechtsanwalt Schmelter absolvierte den Fachanwaltskurs für Steuerrecht. Den Titel des Fachanwalts für Arbeitsrecht trägt er seit 2009. Er berät und vertritt bundesweit Unternehmen in allen Fragen des Arbeitsrechts, insbesondere bei der Planung und Umsetzung von Personalwechseln, Personalreduzierungen, Umstrukturierungen und Betriebsübergängen. Auch leitende Angestellte, Geschäftsführer und Vorstände betreut Herr Schmelter außergerichtlich und gerichtlich in allen rechtlichen Fragestellungen.